Business |
 |
Computer Database 
Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.
Use in Library or Outside Library
|
 |
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodicals)
Use this database to find articles from a comprehensive list of Canadian and international journals, magazines, selected sections of the Globe and Mail, Canadian biographies, and other reference content from Thomson Gale, all with a Canadian focus.
Use in Library or Outside Library
|
| Employment |
 |
Career Cruising
This source provides occupation profiles, assessment tools and information about Canadian universities and colleges. Be sure to try the Career Matchmaker quiz!
Use in Library or Outside Library
|
| |
|
Encyclopedias |
 |
The Canadian Encyclopedia
This site contains the complete text of the Canadian
Encyclopedia in English and French, the text of the Junior
Encyclopedia of Canada (in English only), numerous interactivities,
feature articles, games, the Canucklehead Quiz, and an extensive
timeline of Canadian and world events.
Use in Library or Outside Library
|
 |
Encyclopedia Britannica
Find information quickly and easily by searching
Britannica’s three encyclopedias, the Internet Guide, and collection
of videos.
Use in Library Use Outside Library
|
 |
Gale Virtual Reference Library 
Search over 100 electronic reference books individually or as a group. Titles include subject specific encyclopedias, subject dictionaries, handbooks, and almanacs.
Use in Library or Outside Library
|
 |
Grolier Online Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia articles, maps and current event information found in Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, New Book of Knowledge, New Book of Popular Science, Lands and Peoples, and web sources.
Use in Library Use Outside Library
|
 |
InfoTrac Junior 
This periodical database is designed for students in junior high and middle school with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Use in Library or Outside Library
|
 |
InfoTrac Student
This periodical database is designed for high-school students with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Use in Library or Outside Library
|
 |
Science
Reference Center
Provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
Use In Library Use Outside Library
|
 |
World
Book Online
The premier online reference source--containing every article from
the 22-volume print set plus thousands more. With state-of-the art
multimedia, editor-reviewed Web sites, and more.
Use In Library Use Outside Library
|
 |
World
Data Analyst
Combining detailed statistics with powerful tools for
analysis and display, this resource features a unique collection of
in-depth information about the countries of the world and allows you
to create interesting and information comparative charts and tables.
Use In Library Use Outside Library
|
 |
Encyclopedie Decouverte - World Book in French
Need help with your french assignments? Then this is the source for you! Encyclopedie Decouverte provides access to thousands of encyclopedia articles, dictionary entries, photos, illustrations, diagrams, and maps as part of the World Book Web. This source is written for younger readers that are native French speakers and older students and adults for whom French is a second language.
Use in Library Use Outside Library
|
|
|
General Reference |
| |
|
 |
Canadian Points of View Reference Centre
This full-text database is designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides information on 100 key topics of interest to Canadian researchers. Topics include the environment, human rights, race, substance abuse and many more.The database also offers guides to debate, developing arguments and writing position papers.
Use in Library or Outside Library
|
 |
Discovering Collection
Thousands of overview essays, critical analyses, biographies, timelines and multimedia elements combine into this comprehensive online reference resource.
Use in Library or Outside Library
|
 |
Gale Virtual Reference Library 
Search over 100 electronic reference books individually or as a group. Titles include subject specific encyclopedias, subject dictionaries, handbooks, and almanacs.
Use in Library or Outside Library
|
 |
General Reference Center Gold
A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications. Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.
Use in Library or Outside Library
|
 |
Oxford English Dictionary
A searchable dictionary that can be used to study the history, meaning, and pronunciation of words in the English language. Find out when a word was first used and how its context has changed over time.
Use In Library Use Outside Library (Call library for username and password 519-271-0220)
|
| |
|
Health |
| |
|
 |
Teen Health and Wellness
This database was developed for teens with their unique concerns in mind . It is award-winning and critically acclaimed, providing curricular support and self-help on topics including diseases, drugs & alcohol, nutrition, mental and emotional health, cyber-literacy, family life, sexuality and more. All content is reviewed by leading professionals across fields including medicine, mental health, nutrition, substances abuse prevention, guidance and career counseling.
Use in Library
Use Outside Library (username: stratfordpl password:stratfordpl )
|
|
Health and Wellness Resource Center 
Easily find answers to your most common health questions. You can learn about a disorder such as diabetes, find information on an upcoming medical test, or read about the latest fad diet. Search for health organizations, or look up over-the-counter medication, prescription drugs, and herbs.
Use in Library or Outside Library
|
 |
GLBT Life and Issues e-Collection 
This collection of nearly 40 journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.
Use in Library or Outside Library (requires Stratford Public Library card)
|
 |
Psychology eCollection 
This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops over time. Access to 200 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.
Use in Library or Outside Library (requires Stratford Public Library card)
|
| |
|
Magazines & Journals |
 |
Academic OneFile 
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Use in Library or Outside Library
|
 |
Canadian Points of View Reference Centre
This full-text database is designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides information on 100 key topics of interest to Canadian researchers. Topics include the environment, human rights, race, substance abuse and many more.The database also offers guides to debate, developing arguments and writing position papers.
Use in Library or Outside Library
|
 |
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodicals) 
Use this database to find articles from a comprehensive list of Canadian and international journals, magazines, selected sections of the Globe and Mail, Canadian biographies, and other reference content from Thomson Gale, all with a Canadian focus.
Use in Library or Outside Library
|
 |
Expanded Academic ASAP
Includes more than 6,000 full-text titles; more than 3,000 refereed journals; five newspaper indexes -- a total of nearly 10,200 titles in all with more than 25 years of backfile coverage from 1980 to present.
Use in Library or Outside Library
|
 |
General Reference Center Gold
A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications. Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.
Use in Library or Outside Library
|
 |
MasterFile Premiere
Search articles from over 2,000 magazines covering general interest topics including current events, business, health, science, sports, multicultural issues, and more.
Use In Library Use Outside Library
|
 |
InfoTrac Junior 
This periodical database is designed for students in junior high and middle school with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Use in Library or Outside Library
|
 |
InfoTrac Student
This periodical database is designed for high-school students with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Use in Library or Outside Library
|
 |
Student Resource Centre - Canadian Edition
Student Resource Centre Canadian Edition includes reference, periodicals, primary sources, and multimedia resources geared toward Canadian students and educators. The database includes Canadian curriculum standards with correlated content, a popular topics picklist on the home page that features one-click access to Canadian topics, and new and updated essays on Canadian topics.
Use in Library Use Outside Library (requires Stratford Public Library card)
|
| |
|
Newspapers |
 |
Academic OneFile 
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Use in Library or Outside Library
|
 |
Canada's Heritage from 1844 - Globe and Mail Archive
"Canada's Heritage From 1844" is the
electronic full-page newspaper archive of The Globe from June 1844 to
The Globe and Mail until 2001. Coverage includes all the
stories, plus thousands of images, advertisements, classifieds,
political cartoons, births and deaths from more than 1.4 million pages
of Canada's National Newspaper, dating back to the pre-confederation
era.
Use In Library Use Outside Library
|
 |
Canadian Newsstand - Toronto Star and Globe and Mail Editions
Full text of 41 newspapers
published by Torstar Media Group, including the Kitchener-Waterloo Record (1990 - current), Listowel Banner
(2003 - current), St. Marys Journal Argus (2005-current), Toronto
Star(1985-current) updated daily. We also have access to the Globe and Mail - Full text back to 1977!
Use in Library Use Outside Library (requires Stratford Public Library card)
|
 |
National Newspaper Index 
National Newspaper Index provides quick access to the indexing of America's top five newspapers in one seamless search: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post.
Use in Library or Outside Library (requires Stratford Public Library card)
|
 |
Stratford Beacon Herald Online
Use this database to search
Stratford’s local paper in full text, with articles dating back to
April of 2000. To find obituaries, search for death notices
in the headlines.
Use In Library (ask for username and password)
|
|
Dailies from across Ontario
This database includes 20 English-language daily Ontario newspapers from across Ontario, in addition to many French-language titles. The following papers are available: Barrie Examiner, Belleville Intelligencer, Brantford Expositor, Chatham Daily News, Cobourg Daily Star, Cornwall Standard-Freeholder, Kingston Whig-Standard, Lindsay Daily Post, Niagara Falls Review, North Bay Nugget, Orillia Packet & Times, Owen Sound Sun Times, Pembroke Daily Observer, Peterborough Examiner, Port Hope Evening Guide, Sarnia Observer, Sault Star, St. Catharines Standard, Sudbury Star, Timmins Daily Press and Welland Tribune.
Use in Library Use Outside Library (requires Stratford Public Library card)
|
| |
|
Reading & Literature |
|
Something About the Author
Are you doing a book report, a review for a book club, or are you just looking to learn more about your favourite author? Then try using Something About the Author!
Use in Library or Outside Library (requires Stratford Public Library card)
|
|
Literature Resource Center
Learn about authors and literature including fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism. You will find extensive author information, critical analysis, timelines, links to related websites, and more. Includes Shakespearean Criticism in full text. Searching tips pdf requires Adobe
Reader
Use in Library or Outside Library (requires Stratford Public Library card)
|
 |
Literature Criticism Online
This source provides access to centuries of literature analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals. Includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, and Shakespearean Criticism.
Use in Library or Outside Library (requires Stratford Public Library card)
|
 |
NoveList
This database allows readers to search for their
favourite authors or titles, and find others of similar interest.
Users can browse theme-oriented book lists at every reading level through Explore Fiction, and look for outstanding titles in Best Fiction.
Use In Library Use Outside Library (requires Stratford Public Library card)
|
| |
|
Science & Technology |
 |
Grolier Online Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia articles, maps and current event information found in Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, New Book of Knowledge, New Book of Popular Science, Lands and Peoples, and web sources.
Use in Library Use Outside Library (requires Stratford Public Library card)
|
 |
Science
Reference Center
Provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
Use In Library Use Outside Library (requires Stratford Public Library card)
|
 |
Computer Database 
Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.
Use in Library or Outside Library (requires Stratford Public Library card)
|
| |
|
Miscellaneous |
 |
Military and Intelligence Database 
While this database is designed to serve the research needs of military personnel, it does includes some basic reference materials that are updated annually: The Columbia Electronic Encyclopedia and The World Almanac and Book of Facts. With more than 500 titles and more than 7 million articles (80% full-text), searchers are sure to find answers to their reference questions.
Use in Library or Outside Library (requires Stratford Public Library card)
|
 |
InfoTrac Religion & Philosophy
This database features more than 250 magazines and academic journals covering religion and the
related areas of philosophy, archaeology and anthropology. Use this database not only to study
theological approaches to social issues, but also to learn about the impact that religion has had on
culture throughout history, including literature, arts and language.
Use in Library or Outside Library (requires Stratford Public Library card)
|
 |
Pop Culture eCollection
This collection provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course. This collection is made up of 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.
Use in Library or Outside Library (requires Stratford Public Library card)
|
| Statistics |
 |
E-Stat
This source provides free statistical information from Statistics Canada, designed for students. Statistics covers information about society and the economy, current and historic statistics available.
Use in Library Only
|
 |
World
Data Analyst
Combining detailed statistics with powerful tools for
analysis and display, this resource features a unique collection of
in-dept information about the countries of the world and allows you
to create interesting and information comparative charts and tables.
Use In Library Use Outside Library
|
| |
|
|