<% objCounter.Increment("home") %> Encylopedias at the SPL's Kid's Site

SPL Kid's Site

SPL Bookworm

Facts and Learning

Homework Help

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias

Book Stuff

Books!

Hot Picks

Hot Picks

SPL Programs

SPL Programs

Search Engines

Search Engines

Fun and Games

Fun & Games

Internet Safety

Web Safety

Information for Parents

For Parents

Library Catalogue Library Catalogue
   

Encyclopedias

These online tools are more than just websites - they are online encyclopedias - so they are very trustworthy and up-to-date - just like the print sources in the Library.  If you need help with any of the encyclopedias, ask at the Library. To access these sources from home you will need your Stratford Public Library card number - no spaces!!

 

Grzimek's Animal LifeGrzimek Animals Online
Are you researching an animal? Here you can find detailed information on over 4000 different species of mammals, reptiles, birds, fish, and more!
Available in the library or from home (at home, you need to enter your library card number as a password)

 

Something About the AuthorSomething About the Author
Are you doing a book report or are you just looking to learn more about your favourite author? Then try using Something About the Author!
Available in the library or from home (at home, you need to enter your library card number as a password)

 

Grolier Multimedia EncyclopediaGrolier
A fun, easy to understand encyclopedia with lots of pictures, links to related websites, and magazine articles. Includes games, a "Today in History" section, current news stories, and timelines. Great for students of all ages. (help sheetpdf requires Adobe Reader
Click here if you are in the Library
Click here if you are at home or school

 

GrolierNew Book of Popular Science
A fun and educational science encyclopedia with easy to understand articles, pictures and diagrams, fun facts, and links to carefully evaluated websites. Check out the science games, puzzles, and brain teasers, or print a map of the night sky. (help sheetpdf requires Adobe Reader
Click here if you are in the Library
Click here if you are at home or school


Lands and PeopleGrolier
A fun and educational encyclopedia of countries, cultures, and current events. Each article describes a country's land, people, economy, history, and government. Check out the current news stories, atlas, and educational games including puzzles and brain teasers. (help sheetpdf requires Adobe Reader
Click here if you are in the Library
Click here if you are at home or school



World Book for KidsWorld Book Online for Kids
Wow!  You can access every article from the 22-volume encyclopedia set plus thousands more articles. The articles have sound, images, and even videos!  This source will really help with those homework assignments!  Be sure to have your library card number with you - you will need it! (help sheetpdf requires Adobe Reader
Click here if you are in the Library
Click here if you are at home or school

 

World Book in FrenchEncyclopedie Decouverte - World Book in French Need help with your french assignments? Then this is the source for you! Encyclopedie Decouverte provides access to thousands of encyclopedia articles, dictionary entries, photos, illustrations, diagrams, and maps as part of the World Book Web. This source is written for younger readers that are native French speakers and older students and adults for whom French is a second language.
Click here if you are in the Library
Click here if you are at home or school

 

NoveList K-8NoveList K-8
NoveList K-8 contains materials for all K-8 grade levels and includes picture books, children's "chapter" books and young adult titles. This is a great starting place for learning about the books that you need and will want to read! (help sheet) pdf requires Adobe Reader
Click here if you are in the Library
Click here if you are at home or school

 

Encyclopædia Britannica Online School EditionEncyclopaedia Britannica Elementary
Find information quickly and easily by searching Britannica’s three encyclopedia sets, the Internet Guide, and collection of videos.  You can preselect your reading level so that your results will make sense to you. This is more than just an encyclopedia!
Available in the Library.
Available at home or school


Kids InfoBits
This source is designed for students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features developmentally appropriate and visual graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine and reference content.
Available in the Library or from Home

Knowledge Ontario Source

 

 

Kids InfoBits

 

InfoTrac Junior K-12
This periodical database is designed for students in junior high and middle school with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Available in the Library or from Home

 

Knowledge Ontario Source

 

InfoTrac Junior

E-Stat
This source provides free statistical information from Statistics Canada, designed for students. Statistics covers information about society and the economy, current and historic statistics available.
Use in Library Only

E-Stat
 

 

 

   

Stratford Public Library, 2009
This page was last edited February 1, 2010