 |
TYPE SIZE A+ | A- | Reset |
|
|
Find books, music, movies, and more
|
|
| |
|
|
|

Working on a paper late at night and need some more references? Looking for a back issue to one of Canada's many newspapers? Interested in researching a current news issue or Fortune 500 company? The Stratford Public Library has subscribed to some great databases, just for you! Information found in these sources is reliable and reputable. You cannot find this information in general search engines.
All you need to access these sources is your Stratford Public Library card number (unless otherwise noted).
Around the House
ChiltonLibrary
Chilton Library provides exclusive photographs, diagnostics designed by instructors, step-by-step repair procedures, Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and Technical Service Bulletins (TSBs) for automobiles and light trucks in one easy-to-use web site.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Gardening, Landscape & Horticulture Collection
A custom collection of nearly 50 journals focused on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Small Engine Repair Reference Centre
This source contains detailed yet easy to use repair guides for all sorts of small engines. Includes information such as routine maintenance (tune-ups, brake service, etc.) as well as extensive repairs
(engine and transmission disassembly) and allows users to search by product type, brand, model/engine type, specific area of model/engine type, and model numbers.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
back to top
Arts & Culture
Diversity Studies Collection
A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes 150 journals.
Use In Library | Outside Library
Educators200
Perfect for educating future teachers and administrators, this set covers the latest technologies, developments, instruction and coaching breakthroughs as well as background information on child health and development. Included in this set are over 1100 periodicals.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online features over 45,000 signed articles, 5,500 images, 40,000 image links, and timelines of world art. Also includes access to the full text of the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online includes the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians; The New Grove Dictionary of Opera; The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz; Oxford Companion to Music; and the Oxford Dictionary of Music. The database includes more than 67,000 articles on people and places; instruments and techniques; and genres and styles, including non-western and folk music. Periods covered range from ancient times to the present.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Pop Culture Collection
This collection provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course. This collection is made up of 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Religion & Philosophy Collection
This database features more than 250 magazines and academic journals covering religion and the
related areas of philosophy, archaeology and anthropology. Use this database not only to study
theological approaches to social issues, but also to learn about the impact that religion has had on
culture throughout history, including literature, arts and language.
Library or Outside Library | Sign in with Library card
The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion
The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion covers more than three millennia of Jewish religious thought, custom, law, and practice, from traditional approaches to Reform, Conservative, Reconstructionist and post-denominational Judaism. Brief definitions and longer essays, all supplemented with bibliographies, enlighten readers about the major figures, folklore, and events in the history of Judaism throughout the world.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Username and Password: Contact the library for remote access
back to top
Business
Canadian Directory to Foundations and Corporations
This is an online database containing updated information on over 2,200 Canadian grant-making foundations. Together these foundations hold assets of almost $12 billion and award grants with a total value of over $1 billion. In addition, there are over 150 American foundations included with a history of granting in Canada.
Use In Library Only
Canada's Information Resource Centre
An all-encompassing Canadian online source that provides access to tens of thousands of cultural and professional organizations, government offices, law firms, banks, health and education facilities, libraries, and the media ranging from magazines to broadcasters. With CID you have access to over 100,000 contact names across Canada, too. All carefully indexed for easy productive search queries.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Canadian Trade Index
CTI contains detailed information on over 30,000 Canadian companies. It features nearly 100,000 product listings under more than 20,000 headings. CTI provides up-to-date information on Canadian manufacturers, exporters, and distribution and service companies.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Communication & Mass Media Collection
From marketing professionals to students studying for advanced degrees in linguistic theory, this collection provides current and accurate information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
General Business File ASAP
Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Hospitality, Tourism & Leisure Collection
This collection of over 800 journals provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field. A great resource for curious travelers and serious researchers.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
LegalTrac
Drawing on a wide variety of the most highly regarded legal publications, LegalTrac™ provides indexing for approximately 875 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. Mainly American.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Scott's Directories
Scott’s Directories helps facilitate difficult business connections you need to succeed in your line of work – whether commercial or non-profit, professional or academic. The Ontario directories focus on manufacturers, suppliers, vendors & service industries within our province. Use the data for market research, sales prospecting, locating new suppliers and identifying key executive contacts.
Use In Library [ask for access at Information Desk]
Small Business eCollection
Perfect for business schools and entrepreneurs, this compilation provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories. Users will find 250 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Thomas Register
This database contains extensive company and product information on approximately 170,000 manufacturers.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
back to top
Canadiana
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodicals)
Use this database to find articles from a comprehensive list of Canadian and international journals, magazines, selected sections of the Globe and Mail, Canadian biographies, and other reference content from Thomson Gale, all with a Canadian focus.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
The Canadian Encyclopedia
This site contains the complete text of the Canadian
Encyclopedia in English and French, the text of the Junior Encyclopedia of Canada (in English only), numerous interactivities,
feature articles, games, the Canucklehead Quiz, and an extensive
timeline of Canadian and world events Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Canadian Reference Center
CRC includes Canadian magazines, newspapers, newswires and reference books. This database includes leading Canadian periodicals and international (U.S. and U.K) periodicals in full text; full text reference books; full text biographies and an Image Collection. Updated daily.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Canada's Information Resource Centre
An all-encompassing Canadian online source that provides access to tens of thousands of cultural and professional organizations, government offices, law firms, banks, health and education facilities, libraries, and the media ranging from magazines to broadcasters. With CID you have access to over 100,000 contact names across Canada, too. All carefully indexed for easy productive search queries.
Use In Library or Outside Library | Sign in with Library card
Canadian Newsstand - Toronto Star and Globe and Mail Editions
Full text of 41 newspapers
published by Torstar Media Group, including the Kitchener-Waterloo Record (1990 - current), Listowel Banner
(2003 - current), St. Marys Journal Argus (2005-current), Toronto
Star (1985-current) updated daily. We also have access to the Globe and Mail - Full text back to 1977!
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Canadian Points of View Reference Centre
This full-text database is designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides information on 100 key topics of interest to Canadian researchers. Topics include the environment, human rights, race, substance abuse and many more. The database also offers guides to debate, developing arguments and writing position papers.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Ontario Government Documents
Access 26,000 government documents from the collection of the Ontario Legislative Library. Simple searching, or browse by titles, by ministry/agency, authors, subjects, or years.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Ontario Historical Newspapers
Community and historical newspapers of Ontario: Acton Free Press, British Whig, Canadian Illustrated News, Essex Free Press, Georgetown Herald, Kingston Chronicle, Kingston Gazette, Marine Record, Provincial Freeman, Stouffville Sun-Tribune, Voice of the Fugitive.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Our Ontario - Discovery Portal
Find digital photos, maps, videos, podcasts, and documents about Ontario people, places, events, history and culture.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
back to top
back to top
Careers
Career Cruising
This source provides occupation profiles, assessments tools and information about Canadian universities and colleges. Be sure to try the Career Matchmaker quiz!
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Vocation & Careers eCollection
Finding the right career can be a daunting and high stakes task: finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career are all topics covered by this collection, providing current and applicable content for all vocational milestones. Offering content from nearly 400 journals, this collection provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Career Resources
SPL has compiled a list of good employment websites to help you find helpful websites on job searches, resumes, interviews and more.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Consumer Information
Computer Database
Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Consumer Reports
Full text access to Consumer Reports magazine's investigative articles, product ratings and unbiased monthly reports.
Use Inside Library | Use Outside Library
back to top
Encyclopedias
Britannica Image Quest
Access two million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best collections in the world. Teachers can use the images in their lesson plans and classroom activities while students will turn to the site as they work on homework assignments and school or course projects. Image Quest provides safe and fast access to high quality images on all topics and for all ages.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
The Canadian Encyclopedia
This site contains the complete text of the Canadian Encyclopedia in English and French, the text of the Junior Encyclopedia of Canada (in English only), numerous interactivities, feature articles, games, the Canucklehead Quiz, and an extensive timeline of Canadian and world events.
Use In Library or Outside Library
Encyclopedia Britannica School Edition
Find information quickly and easily by searching Britannica’s three encyclopedias, the Internet Guide, and collection of videos.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
The Encyclopedia of Language & Literacy Development
This database
aims to cover a wide range of topics, including language, reading, and writing development. In order to provide in-depth, quality information, each topic is broken down into several Encyclopedia entries, and each entry focuses on a specific aspect of the topic. Most importantly, the entries are written by internationally recognized experts n the field.
English | French
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search over 100 electronic reference books individually or as a group. Titles include subject specific encyclopedias, subject dictionaries, handbooks, and almanacs.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia
A fun, easy to understand encyclopedia with lots of pictures, links to related websites, and magazine articles. Includes games, a "Today in History" section, current news stories, and timelines. Great for students of all ages.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
World Book Online
The premier online reference source--containing every article from the 22-volume print set plus thousands more. With state-of-the art multimedia, editor-reviewed websites, and more
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
World Book Online Reference Centre
This powerful reference tool that includes encyclopedia, multimedia, e-book, and primary source databases, fully integrated in a single search. Includes a dictionary, atlas, Citation Builder, and local and country research guides, help you compile the data and information you need to complete assignments and background research. There are even computer and web tutorials!
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Encyclopedie Decouverte - World Book in French
Provides access to thousands of encyclopedia articles, dictionary entries, photos, illustrations, diagrams, and maps as part of the World Book Web. This source is written for younger readers that are native French speakers and older students and adults for whom French is a second language.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos - World Book in Spanish
Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos is the optimal beginner’s Spanish language reference tool. The site offers World Book’s excellent editorial content, rich media, and engaging features in Spanish.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
back to top
French
Encyclopedie Decouverte - World Book in French
Provides access to thousands of encyclopedia articles, dictionary entries, photos, illustrations, diagrams, and maps as part of the World Book Web. This source is written for younger readers that are native French speakers and older students and adults for whom French is a second language.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Santé en français
Sante en francais provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full-text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Genealogy
Ancestry Library
This database is a genealogy research tool with data from census, military records, court, land, probate, vital and church records, passenger lists, etc. It covers Canada, the US, UK, and some European countries.
Use In Library Only
back to top
Geography & World Nations
The Canadian Encyclopedia
This site contains the complete text of the Canadian
Encyclopedia in English and French, the text of the Junior Encyclopedia of Canada (in English only), numerous interactivities,
feature articles, games, the Canucklehead Quiz, and an extensive
timeline of Canadian and world events. Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Lands and People
A fun and educational encyclopedia of countries, cultures, and current events. Each article describes a country's land, people, economy, history, and government. Check out the current news stories, atlas, and educational games including puzzles and brain teasers.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World
This encyclopedia presents students, researchers, political analysts, journalists, and common readers with accurate, comprehensive, and balanced scholarship on all aspects of the world's fastest-growing religion and the areas it affects: society, politics, economics, everyday life, culture, and thought.
Use In Library or Outside Library
Username and Password: Contact the library for remote access
World Data Analyst
Combining detailed statistics with powerful tools for
analysis and display, this resource features a unique collection of
in-depth information about the countries of the world and allows you
to create interesting and information comparative charts and tables.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
back to top
Health & Wellness
Alt HealthWatch
This tool focuses on the various perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Contains titles such as American Journal of Chinese Medicine, American Journal of Homeopathic Medicine, California Journal of Oriental Medicine, European Journal of Clinical Hypnosis, Journal of Alternative & Complementary Medicine, Journal of Asian Natural Products Research, Journal of the Australian Traditional-Medicine Society, Journal of the Canadian Chiropractic Association and many others.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Autism Ontario - Knowledge Base
An on-line, searchable database of brief, easy-to-understand documents that are relevant to the lives of youth and adults on the autism spectrum and their families.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Consumer Health Complete
CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full-text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
GLBT Life and Issues Collection
This collection of nearly 40 journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Psychology Collection
This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops over time. Access to almost 500 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Teen Health and Wellness
This database was developed for teens with their unique concerns in mind. It is award-winning and critically acclaimed, providing curricular support and self-help on topics including diseases, drugs & alcohol, nutrition, mental and emotional health, cyber-literacy, family life, sexuality and more. All content is reviewed by leading professionals across fields including medicine, mental health, nutrition, substances abuse prevention, guidance and career counseling.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Username: stratfordpl | Password: stratfordpl
back to top
History & Social Sciences
The Canadian Encyclopedia
This site contains the complete text of the Canadian
Encyclopedia in English and French, the text of the Junior Encyclopedia of Canada (in English only), numerous interactivities,
feature articles, games, the Canucklehead Quiz, and an extensive
timeline of Canadian and world events. Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Canadian Points of View Reference Centre
This full-text database is designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides information on 100 key topics of interest to Canadian researchers. Topics include the environment, human rights, race, substance abuse and many more. The database also offers guides to debate, developing arguments and writing position papers.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Discovering Collection
Thousands of overview essays, critical analyses, biographies, timelines and multimedia elements combine into this comprehensive online reference resource.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Diversity Studies Collection
A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes 150 journals.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Ontario Historical Newspapers
Community and historical newspapers of Ontario: Acton Free Press, British Whig, Canadian Illustrated News, Essex Free Press, Georgetown Herald, Kingston Chronicle, Kingston Gazette, Marine Record, Provincial Freeman, Stouffville Sun-Tribune, Voice of the Fugitive.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Our Ontario
Search digital collections of libraries, archives, museums, historical societies, community groups, government agencies, and content organizations – in seconds. Information about people, places, events and objects about Ontario, and from Ontario organizations. It's easy to find photographs, maps, videos, audio recordings, government documents and other media - instantly @ your fingertips.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
World History Collection
As any historian will state, the study of history is as much about the present as the past: to that end, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. This compilation of nearly 40 journals provides robust and balanced coverage of this field, useful both to the novice historian as well as to the advanced academic researcher.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Languages
Powerspeak Languages
Whether you want to learn a language for travel, business, or personal enrichment, Powerspeak Languages is a breakthrough in online language learning. The highly engaging courses utilize an arsenal of progressive language learning methods. Powerspeak Languages is an entertaining and effective way to learn a new language.
Includes Spanish, French, German, Mandarin and English for ESL.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
back to top
Literature & Reading
Audio Book Cloud
This is an online audio book library collection of streaming audio books.
Your Audio Book Cloud books are never all checked out, never on hold. As many people can listen to the same book at the same time as you like!
Titles include unabridged high quality audio versions of classics of American and world literature, non-fiction, fiction, and children and teen books.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
downloadLibrary.ca
Download ebooks, audio books and videos anywhere, anytime, to any computer. You can even transfer the audio books and videos to your MP3 player or iPod, and take them with you - wherever you go! eBooks can be transferred to various readers like the Sony Reader or the Kobo.
help pages available here
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Literature Criticism Online
This source provides access to centuries of literature analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals. Includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, and Shakespearean Criticism.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Literature Resource Center
Learn about authors and literature including fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism. You will find extensive author information, critical analysis, timelines, links to related websites, and more. Includes Shakespearean Criticism in full text.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
NoveList
This database allows readers to search for their favourite authors or titles, and find others of similar interest. Users can browse theme-oriented book lists at every reading level through Explore Fiction, and look for outstanding titles in Best Fiction.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
NoveList K-8
This branch of NoveList is suitable for kids. Look up books by your favourite authors and discover new ones!
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Something About the Author
Are you doing a book report, a review for a book club, or are you just looking to learn more about your favourite author? Then try using Something About the Author!
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
TumbleBook Cloud
TumbleBookCloud is a middle school and high school collection which contains over 600 titles! This collection contains a vast array of YA/Teen novels, classics, poetry, short stories, YA/Teen audiobooks , our very popular graphic novels, and world class educational videos from National Geographic.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
back to top
Local
AboutMyProperty ™
If you are a residential property owner, you can use this site to get detailed information about your property and obtain information on up to 24 more residential properties to compare assessments. You can also request an assessment reconsideration from this site.
A user ID and a password are required to login. This information is found on the bottom right hand corner of the 2008 Property Assessment Notice.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Our Ontario
Search digital collections of libraries, archives, museums, historical societies, community groups, government agencies, and content organizations – in seconds. Information about people, places, events and objects about Ontario, and from Ontario organizations. It's easy to find photographs, maps, videos, audio recordings, government documents and other media - instantly at your fingertips.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Stratford Beacon Herald Online **
Use this database to search Stratford’s local paper in full text, with articles dating back to April of 2000. To find obituaries, search for death notices in the headlines.
Use In Library
Username and Password: Ask for them at the Information Desk
back to top
Magazines & Research Journals
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodicals)
Use this database to find articles from a comprehensive list of Canadian and international journals, magazines, selected sections of the Globe and Mail, Canadian biographies, and other reference content from Thomson Gale, all with a Canadian focus.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Canadian Reference Center
CRC includes Canadian magazines, newspapers, newswires and reference books. This database includes leading Canadian periodicals and international (U.S. and U.K) periodicals in full text; full text reference books; full text biographies and an Image Collection. Updated daily.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
General OneFile
A gigantic collection of millions of magazine and journal articles. Great for research papers and projects. Includes articles from business, technology, current events, economics, education, law, literature, art, politics, science, social science, sports, and more.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
General Reference Center Gold
A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications. Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
MasterFile Premier
Search articles from over 2,000 magazines covering general interest topics including current events, business, health, science, sports, multicultural issues, and more.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
back to top
Newspapers & Magazines
Stratford Beacon Herald Online **
Use this database to search Stratford’s local paper in full text, with articles dating back to April of 2000. To find obituaries, search for death notices in the headlines.
Use In Library
Username and Password: Ask for them at the Information Desk
Canadian Newsstand - Toronto Star & Globe and Mail Edition
Full text of 41 newspapers
published by Torstar Media Group, including the Kitchener-Waterloo Record (1990 - current), Listowel Banner
(2003 - current), St. Marys Journal Argus (2005-current), Toronto
Star (1985-current) updated daily. We also have access to the Globe and Mail - Full text back to 1977!
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Canadian Reference Center
CRC includes Canadian magazines, newspapers, newswires and reference books. This database includes leading Canadian periodicals and international (U.S. and U.K) periodicals in full text; full text reference books; full text biographies and an Image Collection. Updated daily.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
General Reference Center Gold
A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications. Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Ontario Historical Newspapers
Community and historical newspapers of Ontario: Acton Free Press, British Whig, Canadian Illustrated News, Essex Free Press, Georgetown Herald, Kingston Chronicle, Kingston Gazette, Marine Record, Provincial Freeman, Stouffville Sun-Tribune, Voice of the Fugitive.
Use In Library or Outside Library
back to top
Science & Technology
Computer Database
Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather
Contains information on weather, climate, and atmospheric processes, as well as biographical entries on people who advanced our understanding of meteorology and climatology.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Username and Password: Contact the library for remote access
General Science eCollection
Although staying current on the latest scientific developments can be daunting, this collection aims to provide a researcher with the information to do just that. Composed of over 200 journals – from highly specialized academic journals to general science-focused magazine – the InfoTrac General Science Collection provides coverage of all scientific endeavor, including such topics as particle physics and quantum theory, advanced mathematics, biotechnology, and many more.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library GreenFILE
Indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
New Book of Popular Science
A fun and educational science encyclopedia with easy to understand articles, pictures and diagrams, fun facts, and links to carefully evaluated websites. Check out the science games, puzzles, and brain teasers, or print a map of the night sky.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Information Science & Technology Collection
Comprised of content from nearly 100 leading industry journals, this collection provides current and accurate information for the information professional. Coverage includes such topics as data processing techniques, metadata architectures, and more.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
Science Reference Center
Provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library Today's Science
Today's Science covers health, the environment, technology, life science, physical science, earth and space science, and science and society. Sources include major scientific journals, magazines and newspapers from around the world. You can even access editorial cartoons on scientific developments.
Use In Library | Use Outside Library
** Your use of this site acknowledges your agreement with the following terms. If you do not agree with any of the following terms,then you are prohibited from using this site & must log off now. Continued use of this site is your acknowledgement that you agree with the terms.
- Only 1 copy of any item may be made;
- Copies may not be made for any commercial purpose;
- Copies may only be used for research purposes;
- Sun Media Corporation and its employees and agents are not responsible for any errors or omissions in the content of any
item or in this site.
- Use of this site and any item is at your own risk.
back to top
|
|
|
|